ATV RULES FOR SAND LAKE RECREATION
Information Provided by Hebo Ranger District
The following information is being provided to help you
make your visit at Sand Lake safe and enjoyable. All
Federal, State, and County laws, rules, and regulations
are enforced at Sand Lake. The major traffic crimes
include: reckless driving, driving while suspended or
revoked, fleeing or attempting to elude a police officer,
hit-and-run, and driving under the influence of
intoxicants. People committing these crimes will be
arrested. The following are the major rules and
regulations that apply to off-road vehicles at Sand Lake
(other important rules and regulations are posted on the
bulletin boards and signs throughout the area):
1. All ATVs must be equipped with a spark
arrestor/muffler that is Forest Service-approved and that
meets the noise level standards of the Oregon D.E.Q.
2. All ATVs must be equipped with adequately working
3. All ATVs must be equipped with, and display,
headlights (white) and tail lights (red) from 1/2-hour
after sunset to 1/2-hour before sunrise.
4. All Class I & II ATVs must be equipped with a flag
that is at least 9 feet from the ground when the vehicle
is under power. The flag must be solid red or orange with
one side at least 8 inches wide; the length of the flag
must be at least 12 inches long. Flags are required 24
hours a day. Flags on motorcycles are optional.
5. All persons who are under the age of 18 and are on a
Class I or Class III ATV must wear an approved helmet.
6. If your driving privileges have been revoked or
suspended in this state or any other state, you cannot
operate ATVs in Oregon.
7. The following are additional requirements for each
class of ATV:
FOR CLASS I ATVs (quads, 3-wheelers, odysseys, etc.), you
must have - A valid & displayed Class-I ATV
registration decal. - A valid driver's license or valid
Class-I ATV operator permit or be within the control of
person who is at least 18 years old who has a valid
driver's license or a valid Class-I ATV operator permit.
FOR CLASS II ATVs (rails,
cars, etc.), you must have - A valid & displayed
Combined Class-II&III ATV permit decal. - A valid
driver's license. - A seat and seatbelt for each
occupant. - A charged and mounted fire extinguisher. - An
adequate roll bar or other adequate enclosure.
FOR CLASS-III ATVs (motorcycles), you must have - A valid
& displayed Combined Class-II&III ATV permit
decal. - A set of foot pegs for the operator and a
separate set of foot pegs for the passenger. - Persons
who are under the age of 7 may not operate a Class-III
ATV in public. - For operators who are ages 7 thru 11,
you must have a valid Class-III ATV operator permit and
be within the control of a person who is at least 18
years old who has a valid driver's license or a valid
Class-III ATV operator permit. - For operators who are
ages 12 and older, you must have a valid driver's license
or a valid Class-III ATV operator permit or be within the
control of a person who is at least 18 years old who has
a valid driver's license or a valid Class-III ATV
operator permit . 8. The flag and ATV registration/permit
requirements apply to all vehicles being operated on the
sand, including vehicles being driven to and from the
trees located northwest of the West lot.
9. The beach speed limit is 25 mph. Basic rule applies to
the open sand.
10. If you do any jumping, have a spotter who will help
you to avoid accidents, near-accidents, and reckless
11. All accidents must be reported if property damage is
over $500 or someone is injured; however, every party
involved in an accident must exchange information,
regardless of whether it's a reportable accident.
12. ATVs cannot be operated on paved roads outside of the
recreation area or between the campground main entrance
and Fisherman parking lot (picnic area) unless they are
13. Motor vehicles cannot be operated past the green
regulatory signs on the beach.
14. No drag racing. This includes holiday weekends also.
For out-of-state Class- I ATV owners: If your home state
has an ATV registration system and participates in a
reciprocal agreement with Oregon, you must purchase your
ATV registration from your home State (check with your
State's licensing department otherwise. you must purchase
your ATV registration from the Oregon Motor Vehicles
Division or an approved agent.